Mark Ratain, MD

Ratain, Mark 2014_120Leon O. Jacobson Professor of Medicine

Director, Center for Personalized Therapeutics

Associate Director for Clinical Sciences, Comprehensive Cancer Center The University of Chicago


Dr. Ratain is a graduate of Harvard College (A.B., 1976) and Yale University School of Medicine (M.D., 1980). His postgraduate training was completed at Johns Hopkins Hospital (Internal Medicine, 1980-3) and the University of Chicago Hospitals (Hematology/Oncology, 1983-6). He has been a faculty member in the Department of Medicine at The University of Chicago since 1986, and is currently the Leon O. Jacobson Professor of Medicine, the Director of the Center for Personalized Therapeutics and Chief Hospital Pharmacologist. In addition, he serves as the Associate Director for Clinical Sciences in the University’s Comprehensive Cancer Center, leads the University of Chicago’s phase I oncology trials program and is co-director of PAAR-Pharmacogenomics of Anticancer Agents Research Group. Dr. Ratain’s research focuses on the development of new oncology drugs and diagnostics, and he is an international leader in phase I clinical trials, pharmacogenomics, and clinical trial methodology, with 268 original publications. He served as the first chair of the Steering Committee of the National Institutes of Health Pharmacogenetics Research Network, as well as one of the first co-chairs of the National Cancer Institute Investigational Drug Steering Committee. He currently serves as co-Editor of Pharmacogenetics and Genomics, and is a past Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Oncology. He is the recipient of multiple awards, including the Research Achievement Award in Clinical Pharmacology and Translational Research from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, the Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, the Translational Research Professorship from the Conquer Cancer Foundation, and a Honorary Fellowship from the American College of Clinical Pharmacology.